A Year of Silence…

My blog was dead this year, and for no small reasons. After a difficult church discipline that exploded in my face-for the glory of God; Chrissi and I found ourselves at a cold crossroads. Pregnant, alone, without much spiritual support (Praise be to the Maker who supplied us in every way from our distant families)-Abigail Ruth was born to us 11/17/2007. After over a week in the NICU due to underdeveloped lungs (a faith trial in itself) she came home with us after a solemn Thanksgiving. That winter yielded a cold heart in my soul and home. I felt like Elijah-standing alone, seeing God move, feeling forsaken in persecution. I became bitter toward my King, and ironically in bitterness returned to seminary in Louisville. We bought a home, started jobs, (I continue in part time work, this is an albatross above any Christian mans heart-which should desire to provide fully for his family) found a church home, and started school.

About matthewstevens

Matt needs more Jesus...just like you. He writes to encourage thinking and the expansion of the Kingdom
This entry was posted in Religion, The Church Today. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Year of Silence…

  1. chadwick says:

    Matthew,

    I’m speechless . . . I have experienced exactly what you have been through.

    I pray that you, Chrissi, and Abigail Ruth and are doing well.

    Please email me your new phone number and contact information.

    I hope Dr. Nettles likes the picture that you sent him! 😉

    chadwick

Leave a Reply

