“The Church ignores science….so I left”

Reasons people leave church about age 15-

The reasons are

 

Continuing the evaluation of the 6 reasons 20/30 somethings left the church at about age 15 bring us to creation/evolution.

Reason #3 – Churches come across as antagonistic to science.

One of the reasons young adults feel disconnected from church or from faith is the tension they feel between Christianity and science. The most common of the perceptions in this arena is “Christians are too confident they know all the answers” (35%). Three out of ten young adults with a Christian background feel that “churches are out of step with the scientific world we live in” (29%). Another one-quarter embrace the perception that “Christianity is anti-science” (25%). And nearly the same proportion (23%) said they have “been turned off by the creation-versus-evolution debate.” Furthermore, the research shows that many science-minded young Christians are struggling to find ways of staying faithful to their beliefs and to their professional calling in science-related industries.

Image

Often in the church, we don’t ‘know the answer’ to hard questions, so we just put down the opposing view.  That has happened for too long on this issue.  At the same time, Christian have allowed the debate to be framed as, “Why are Christians so stupid to believe in creation, when there is no scientific support for it?”  When rather, the question should be, “We know that scientifically there is evidence for a Designer, why is academia suppressing it?”

I am a creationist, I believe that it is essential to the gospel (if there was no real Adam/Eve, then there was no real ‘Fall’, thus there is no real sin, if there was no real sin-Jesus died in vain).

Also, I think it’s important to be able to give an account for what you believe.  As such here’s some helpful links-

These resources are not Scripture, but are helpful tools.

It’s not always flashy, to have these conversations or dig into the ‘dissenting view”, but they are important..apparently if we want to keep people in church the are.


[i] Yes I previously criticized IDT, and still hold to 6 day creationism.  However, the fact that there is scientific validity to creation is put forth in “Expelled” in a clear way.  I do not hold to everything in the film, but for those supports, I recommend it.

About matthewstevens

Matt needs more Jesus...just like you. He writes to encourage thinking and the expansion of the Kingdom
This entry was posted in Baptists, Christianity, Church, Jesus, Religion, The Church Today, Theology, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “The Church ignores science….so I left”

  1. Pingback: So, should I have sex, or go to church? « reflections of Matt Stevens

  2. Pingback: Church is for people like us….and only like us. « reflections of Matt Stevens

  3. Pingback: This post will… « reflections of Matt Stevens

  4. Pingback: Can I ask a question at Church? Uh, NO!!! « reflections of Matt Stevens

  5. Pingback: Can I ask a question at church? Uh, NO!! « reflections of Matt Stevens

  6. Pingback: “Church is shallow and boring, so I didn’t go back…” « reflections of Matt Stevens

  7. Pingback: Christianity Insanity « reflections of Matt Stevens

  8. Robert Burke says:

    An Advanced Degree in Thinking
    By Robert Winkler Burke
    Book #4 of In That Day Teachings
    3/21/09 http://www.inthatdayteachings.com

    What I needed was a retarded,
    Oops! I mean, advanced degree in thinking,
    So I immersed myself in fantastic,
    Oops! I mean, enlightened Christian preaching.

    Me and tens of millions of deceived,
    Oops! I mean, genius Christians did this,
    So on elections we would be fooled,
    Oops! I mean, ruled without prejudice.

    We also learned when fleeced how to stop it,
    Oops! I mean, to not touch God’s own anointed,
    So when voting for US President our trance,
    Oops! I mean, our spirit picked the one appointed.

    I just thank God for my education from antichrist,
    Oops! I mean Christian broadcasting,
    I’m happy, no honored, to send money to them,
    Oops! I mean to Mandarins governing.

    People who don’t understand my compliance, I hate,
    Oops! I mean, I kindly, compassionately tolerate,
    Who cares? Our leaders from pulpit to capitol devour,
    Oops! I mean, have our best interests at stake.

    My pulpit and political leaders fly high in their hubris,
    Oops! I mean, wonderful executive jets,
    My pulpit and political leaders are selfish cannibals,
    Oops! I mean, selfless workers for my best!

    Christian Broadcast has made me profoundly un-American,
    Oops! I mean, the perfect patriot,
    When demagogues speak and do evil, I’m so deaf and blind,
    Oops! I mean, I’ll agree to hate not.

    My friends say my brain is full of twisted propaganda,
    Oops! I mean: so Christ-like and Christ-emanating,
    They see the doctrines I was immersed uncritically in,
    Oops! They’re now arrested, due for terminating.

    Behold, Jesus is now in my refined soul quickly coming!
    Oops! I mean: I’ll soon be raptured,
    I’m not lazy, but it’s fun to know evil is mind numbing!
    Oops! Which god has me captured?

Leave a Reply

