My Bible and my Switchblade

Yesterday, as I dressed and prepared for my day, I went through a pretty standard process of determining how what I wore and carried would assist any situations I would encounter during our family trip to Louisville for a Dr. visit.

Despite looking like I just throw myself together often.  I honestly do have reason to wear hiking boots and jeans in early August.  I also always carry a knife.  My dad used to remind me of the meme that my grandfather used when asked if he had a knife on him…

“I got my pants on…”
Principle being, that if one is in a situation requiring pants-there is a high probability that there might also arise a need for a knife.

So I always grew up with a knife, even in my TX high school-we needed knives, and were “allowed” to carry the handy little tools.

There are a variety of uses for knives beyond the obvious, and as such you are familiar with the “Swiss Army” variety .  So I own different knives for different reasons.

Back to getting dressed-I had to pick out a knife.  I had on my dresser, the knife that I carried at church the day before-a small, pretty knife for loose shirt strings, or small boxes.  Great for church-but not for work.

But yesterday I reached for my SOG tanto automatic.  Unquestionably the fastest, sharpest knife I own, to date-very grateful for it being gifted to me.  I usually don’t carry a switchblade, (yes, they’re legal to own in my state and carry with a license) but today I did because I thought if I needed a knife, this one fit the bill for the situations I was most likely to encounter.

On the way home, we witnessed a military truck overturn (Story).  I immediately turned around, pulled over and ran to help the Guardsman- as did several others.

One of the responders was an off duty EMT. He determined that the soldier was fairly ok, but trapped by his seat belt.–  He also forgot his knife.

He screamed for a sharp knife, and I had mine out and opened, while many others were still digging in pockets through phones and keys to find a traditional folding knife.  He used my knife to cut that seat belt and then he and I helped the driver climb out of the truck to safety.  I wouldn’t have been much good if I had opted for flip-flops over hiking boots, or a small folder over my switchblade.

I’m not bragging-I have little to brag about, I just had a little forethought to prepare for the day.

As Christians we are encouraged-

I charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and by his appearing and his kingdom: preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching. For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions, and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander off into myths. As for you, always be sober-minded, endure suffering, do the work of an evangelist, fulfill your ministry.
(2Ti 4:1-5)

Often times we see where churches migrate to comfort of opinion over sound biblical teaching.  I have been guilty of wanted to take the easy wrong road over the hard right road.  But we are called to submit our lives to the rule of Christ.  To be ready to be sober minded, endure suffering, and fulfill the ministry.

We are a people of Christ, not a people of comfort.  We must abandon all else save biblical truth.

I have often been asked why I carry large, sharp, fast knives, the answer is usually, “I might need it”;  people usually assume this is an allusion to defensive purposes.   And that is one possibility.

I have also been asked why I’m hung up on Biblical authority in church, interestingly enough, right before Paul wrote that passage above he wrote,

2Ti 3:16-17  All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.

I’ve never met a Christian who wants to be equipped for “every BAD work”.  Scripture is useful to accomplish every good work in the church today.  While is does correct, it also does reproof and train in righteousness.  Believers should learn to equip themselves for their service in the Church with the Bible.

As much as a prepared person might need a good blade-for a variety of reasons, we need even more to obey the Bible if we expect to be prepared for the situations of life.

For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.
(Heb 4:12)

About matthewstevens

Matt needs more Jesus...just like you. He writes to encourage thinking and the expansion of the Kingdom
This entry was posted in Baptists, Christianity, Church, The Church Today and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

